HMPH! – “Headrush”


SKU: N/A Category: Tags: , , , , ,


Artist Name: HMPH!
Album Name: Headrush
Record Label: Haymaker Records
Release Date: April 18, 2015 / August 21, 2015
Catalog No.: HAY005-CS / HAY005-LP
Formats: Cassette Tape / 12-Inch Vinyl / Digital Download

HMPH! is the three-piece math-rock outfit of Ryan Lee Toms (RLT), Jonathan Thatch, and (later) Kitten Boggs. As an instrumental group with guitar, bass, drums, looping pedal and effects, the ingredients are simple but the result is not. Using staples of the math rock genre, such as technical patterned guitar riffs, odd time signatures, and herky-jerky start/stops, the songs greet your ears with a jarring wake up call. A unique sense of melody and structure cement a listening experience filled with unlikely anthems.

Their debut full-length vinyl release Headrush was recorded at HQ in Kansas City, KS by Dedric Moore, who functioned as producer and engineer of the album. Moore’s bands Monta at Odds and Mysterious Clouds also have a home on the Haymaker label. The album features album artwork by Nanci Lee Ayala Rush and was pressed on marble gray / green vinyl with digital download included.

Additional information


, ,

You may also like…